T: +44 (0)844 272 8900
F: +44 (0)844 272 8901

Skype: sherylin.thompson

What are your credentials?

The following is a list of my formal education resulting in professional qualifications. Each takes a number of years to complete and are rigorously assessed by the awarding bodies:

  • Doctorate in Counselling Psychology and Psychotherapy – Middlesex University
  • Diploma in Integrative Psychotherapy – Metanoia Institute / UKCP accredited course
  • Graduation Diploma in Psychology – University of East London
  • NCFE in Person-Centred Counselling - BACP accredited course
  • Bachelor of Arts: Psychology and Communications – University of South Africa
  • Member of the EMDR (Eye Movement Desensitisation and Reprocessing) Association
  • HCPC registered: The title “Counselling Psychologist” can only be used by those registered with the Health and Care Professions Council (HCPC), an independent regulator set up by the Health and Social Work Professions Order 2001. The HCPC only registers people who meet the standards it sets for training, professional skills, behaviour and health.
  • Chartered Psychologist: Chartered psychologist status with the British Psychological Society (BPS) reflects the highest standard of psychological knowledge and expertise. Chartered Psychologist status is the BPS gold standard, demonstrating a commitment to professional development and high ethical standards of practice, teaching and research. Chartered psychologists are entitled to use the designation 'CPsychol'.
  • UKCP registered: The United Kingdom Council for Psychotherapists (UKCP) holds national registers of psychotherapists, listing those practitioners who meet exacting standards and training requirements. This includes meeting established standards of professional practice as well as abiding by the UKCP's Code of Ethics and requirements for continued professional development.
  • BACP Register of Counsellors and Psychotherapists (formerly known as UKRCP): The British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy register is assessed and accredited under a scheme set up by the Department of Health. It is administered by an independent body, accountable to Parliament, the Professional Standards Authority for Health and Social Care (the Authority).
    • In addition, I am committed to continuing professional development (CPD). This means that I am always updating my skills and keeping abreast of new knowledge by attending regular training modules, conferences and workshops.

I am a member of the following organisations and abide by their ethical guidelines. Please click on the logos to get my membership details.

You are viewing the text version of this site.

To view the full version please install the Adobe Flash Player and ensure your web browser has JavaScript enabled.

Need help? check the requirements page.

Get Flash Player